401 Unauthorized Access a permissions issue?

Aug 14, 2014 at 11:52 AM
Hi Guys

Im just getting started with c# and the twitter API so I was trying to get the samples in the Examplinvi project working. I have created my application and access keys and added them to the app.config but I keep getting 401 Unauthorized Access errors when I try and run any of the samples.

Currently my application profile only has read access as I need to register a phone number with twitter to upgrade the permissions to read/write. Could that be whats causing the 401 Unauthorized Access? Ive gone through the previous questions posted here with the same issue but none of them resolved it for me.

Cheers
Brian
Coordinator
Aug 14, 2014 at 12:39 PM
Hello there,

It just depends on which method you want to use, if you want to only read information from the Twitter API like tweets and other, this should work properly.
Either case, do not hesitate to give your phone number, they do not use it...

Linvi
Aug 14, 2014 at 1:33 PM
i only tried the to run the CredentialsCreator_WithCaptcha_StepByStep function and it stops on the GetAuthorizationURL function with the 401 error.

I have no problem giving twitter my number but they dont accept it. They are currently only setup to accept phone numbers from one particular mobile network provider and I dont have a number on that network. I can get one but I was hoping to continue on with getting my head around how all this works until I have a number.
Editor
Aug 14, 2014 at 1:52 PM
I think this is a bug.

I had made an issue about this a while ago, it also contains a workaround:
https://tweetinvi.codeplex.com/workitem/2355

Not sure if Linvi got around looking at that workitem.

imlokesh
Aug 14, 2014 at 2:12 PM
I dont think I was getting that error. There were a few runtime ones but the first was always the 401 so I didnt pay much attention to the others. Ill try it again later on and Ill check.

Thanks
Brian
Coordinator
Aug 14, 2014 at 2:16 PM